Poets logo

Not A Love Poet

A Poem

By Alex RiosPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

I swear, I don’t write love poems, but if I did, it would go something like, roses are red, violets are blue. No no wait, it would go something like, I want to be the man that gets the chance to fall asleep with you, be the man that gets a chance to see all the routines that you do. Like the nights that you stay up longer than you should just to do homework that’s not even close to being due. See, I want to be the man that shows you off too the world, like the ocean shows off the reflection of the sunrise on a perfect Summer morning. Or how a kid shows off their smile when they understand something that they are learning. Be the man that is there when you’re sick or feeling down and out, go through this life just to figure out what it’s all about.

And I swear, I don’t write love poems, but if I did, it would go something like, when I look into your eyes I can see the light of my future, my life, and all your feelings, with just one look, it’s something like we can read each other like an open book. How with just one look I can make you smile so bright it’s like sun rays lighting up the entire room. How the process of our love was so beautiful it was like a rose when it starts to bloom. I’d say how your kiss is like a drug, I’m addicted, I want it all the time. Like how Popeye wanted Olive, just wanted you to be mine.

See, I don’t really write love poems, but if I did, I’d write about how your a fighter even on days you wanna be weak. I’d write about how when you open your mouth, you sound like an angel every time that you speak. See, I’d write about the way you lay on my chest, like a pillow whenever you sleep, or how you love Vic’s so much you let me rub it all over your feet, even though you hate feet. I’d write about how your laugh is like music making my heart feel like the drumbeat. Or how your touch feels so right, when I hold you it makes me feel so complete.

And after all that she looks at me and says, but what does love mean to you? I told her, put it this way, Love is something I never really knew. But with every kiss I can see our past lives going back centuries. And when I close my eyes I have all these recurring dreams. See, and in these dreams we meet but it’s never really the right time. We drift apart, grow old and alone and then we die. See, we lived in England and you were the princess and I was your joker, we fell in love got together but then it was over. You had a nation to run, I tried to keep up but I was little slower, we broke it off and grew old, and died being loners. Came back I was a musician and you were a fan. We locked eyes at one of my shows, met after and that was it I became you man. But we broke up because you through yourself in your study, so I started writing about love hoping you’d hear one of my songs and come back to me. You did but you didn’t I guess it wasn’t the right time, Years went by, we were alone and then we died. When we were resurrected I was a soldier and You were my doctor, I came to you once and we connected, we spent hours talking about your favorite author. We talked about going on a date then I left and You never saw me again. I went to war and I died so you grew old and alone wondering what if instead. Our last life we were best friends who secretly loved each other, we went to a party sat by the fire and finally told one another. Feelings started flying like the embers from the fire call it something like twin flames, Years went by, we went to different colleges and nothing was the same. We grew old, I sent you a letter saying we’d be together one day, we died that night, I’ll see you in the next life, I’ll know exactly what to say. See a love like our is endless it’ll come back every time. I’ll fight for you in every life, till the life I finally make you mine. And please, understand, I don’t ever write love poems, but if I did, this is exactly how it would go.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alex Rios

I just love writing poetry from what I know and can put myself in someone else’s shoes. Just trying to reach people and help them connect.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.