Poets logo

Not 100% Girl

the duality

By Rajkumarie DeviPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Not 100% Girl
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Bringing me into a world that has forgotten

What once was created a lone being;

A guardian for the world;

A duality by itself;

Surviving without companionship for Millenia;

My mother knew, did she not?

She prepared everything in blue,

Expecting a boy.

Instead, I was born.

A girl…?

Am I…?

Did I not develop enough to be a boy?

*

I was celebrated.

A soul being born;

Taking physical form as a girl.

I was the oldest;

Given the name of the highest among all girls;

A goddess.

But goddesses don’t wear blue.

And I love blue.

Intensely.

Did my mother feel it?

I would wear blue every day;

Surround myself with it in every way.

*

I’ve never liked pink except on a Lotus or Rose.

Never on a dress I was given to wear.

I would change those divine flowers to blue if I could.

But I cannot change myself.

I like being a girl.

Even as a woman…older now than my mother

When I was born,

Deep inside…I am a girl.

Except on days when a childhood thought seeps through;

I should have been a boy.

And on the days when I feel the duality.

I am not 100% girl.

~~~

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Rajkumarie Devi

Observing the world through different eyes and a different mindset.

Walking the path of enlightenment.

Love poetry, science fiction/fantasy and spirituality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.