Poets logo

Nostalgia Fishing

A trip back home

By Karly FischerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Nostalgia Fishing
Photo by Kael Bloom on Unsplash

Nostalgia fishing

Next to a house owned by someone else

In a picture framed in dusty wood

With friends who know someone young

Compelled to arrive, an aimless drive

Weathered landmarks on either side

I smoke a cigarette, though I quit,

Because I used to be reckless with a habit

Gum used to have more mint

I’m out of place at the old cafe

The coffee smells right but tastes less bitter

It’s watered down and makes me feel tired

I don’t belong here

This is just a shot location

Before I life stopped being a movie

It seemed destined and made sense back then

Today has so many questions

So tonight I’ll go to the old bar as a stranger

Listen to music plenty others remember

I won’t discover anything new but

Maybe something forgotten

Buried under the hope it will ever happen again.

Home will always be a memory

The best parts saved and doubts discarded

It can’t be found and you can’t stay

Because life requires time

But home doesn’t work that way

And when days have peeled away the rest of it

I suppose home is all I will have left

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Karly Fischer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.