Poets logo

Nostalgia

A lost lifetime in a preternatural place

By Maggie SiciliaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Nostalgia
Photo by Alessio Furlan on Unsplash

A bitter bean upon my tongue,

Its heat my mouth has quickly stung.

A hallowed palace on my left,

But of its charms I grow bereft.

San Marco’s clock is just above,

Where once I came to meet my love.

The espresso yet I cannot feel,

So through my memories I reel.

His hand my shoulder lightly traced,

His eyes would glint to see my face.

He my worries could erase,

His smile filled my heart with grace.

I sip my fix and fix to go.

I cannot bear to leave it, though.

Her endless bridges, endless brine,

Her alleys, her masks, her sun, her wine.

She is my home, her canals shine,

He may have known her, but she is mine.

nature poetryvintagelove poems
Like

About the Creator

Maggie Sicilia

Maggie is a Chicago-based writer, editor, singer, and actor. She is an avid reader, an amateur foodie, and a strong supporter of the Oxford comma. ig: @maggie.sicilia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.