Poets logo

None of these compare

a love poem

By Bryan AllenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
None of these compare
Photo by Brigitte Tohm on Unsplash

I've seen the sun with scarlet tongue stain skies above Hong Kong

And off the coast of John O'Groats I've witnessed grey seals throng

From Halong Bay to Mandalay I've viewed majestic days

And glimpsed the photo finish at the Ascot steeplechase

But none of these compare

to the beauty of your face

I've savoured five course banquets at a Cambridge black tie Ball

In sultry Spain I've sipped champagne, with tapas large and small

I've sampled fresh gelato, tasted teacakes at the Ritz

Squeezed lemons in Sorrento, and chowed down on fish and chips

But none of these compare

to the honey of your lips

I've listened to the chanting of the monks in Shangri-La

and the screeches on the beaches of the birds in Zanzibar

And heard La Scala's divas trill (but not so much by choice)

In London town I pogoed down as Bono sang Rejoice

But none of these compare

to the sound of your sweet voice

I've inhaled the floral fragrance of the garlands in Chennai,

Sniffed aromatic spices in the markets of Dubai,

The sharpness of the incense in the shrines of Kathmandu

And whiffs of chilli peppers in the hotpots of Chengdu

But none of these compare

to the perfume that is you

My fingertips sensed craftsmanship at Khufu's Pyramid

A Japanese masseuse has oiled my body in Madrid

I've trodden ancient cobbles as I hiked through Liechtenstein

I've pawed the backs of elephants and poked a porcupine

But none of these compare

to your soft hand in mine

I've seen so much and heard so much

And smelt and touched it too

But none of this is worth a fig

Compared

To you

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Bryan Allen

Global citizen.

Lived in six countries, speak about six languages.

Working as a freelance proofreader.

Passionate about the environment, equality and self-expression.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.