Poets logo

No Title Needed

The Writing Explains Itself

By Chrissy BarnhillPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

You can take my life;

Take my light;

But leave my child alone 

You nasty predator.

Leave the innocents innocent;

Don't make them sing

Your version of a song 

That doesn't ring;

Of hope and a brighter future. 

Let my he and she grow up on their own. 

Would you want your child

Growing up in a world 

Before it's gone? 

Whether college or McDonald's 

Gay straight or whatever 

A minor is still a minor 

With a still developing brain;

And you want to give them a lasting stutter?

I think not my dear; 

My child I would live for. 

Keep your noses, your "words" and your pictures to yourself;

This mama is a bear 

When pulled down from the shelf. 

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Chrissy Barnhill

Of In @ com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.