Poets logo

No Such Thing As Too Much Calm

I'm my own calm, but so are you

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
22
No Such Thing As Too Much Calm
Photo by Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

I've always wondered,

What does the calm after a storm feel like?

Is it a soft breeze across your face?

Is it the pin drop silence after a roaring applause?

What is it?

I've always asked.

But now I know

That the calm isn't in lack of life

It IS life.

It is the warm embrace of a loved one.

It is the peals of laughter after a lame inside joke.

It is the giggles of a mischievous inner child.

It is the knowledge that things will be okay.

And I get that feeling

When I glance at your face

When I see your smile

When I notice the twinkle in your eyes.

You.

You are my calm after the storm

The calm that'll be there

Waiting

Even if I'm facing a storm

Of my own

Inside or out.

www.manishadhalani.com

love poems
22

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Pure

  • Nicole Gibson4 months ago

    Such a beautiful poem.

  • This is such a gently sweet poem. the calm isn't in lack of life "It IS life. It is the warm embrace of a loved one. It is the peals of laughter after a lame inside joke..." Lovely.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    So true! The pauses between are just as important as the heartbeats themselves 😁

  • Shaun Walters5 months ago

    Wonderful!

  • Nush5 months ago

    I love the hug of a loved one party. Because that's when I feel the most calm. Nicely written!

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Beautiful❤️

  • Adam 7 months ago

    great story.

  • Dylan 7 months ago

    Love this!

  • daphne gray7 months ago

    chills. "It is the knowledge that things will be okay." I love this!!

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    Love it ❤️

  • Test7 months ago

    Manisha that was exceptionally well written.

  • Jenny Huynh9 months ago

    Calm and present in the moment itself.

  • Sneha Pradhan2 years ago

    “That the calm isn't in lack of life. It IS life.” Beautiful 🤍

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Loved this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.