Poets logo

No Returns

Stories are sold… “No” is not an acceptable answer… No returns, and no refunds are accepted. Stories I don’t believe to be true, assumptions, false rumors and all the rest. Actions I could so easily return, but, what good would that do?

By Josh MorganPublished 14 days ago 2 min read
3

It's better to give than to receive-

Right?

But what's coming to me-

Some give out what I'd rather not receive

Won't take no for an answer-

And don't accept returns

But taking an eye for an eye would leave all of us blind

I am not always to reflect what comes my way, I know that

Anger, bitterness and enmity

Apathy, hatred and animosity

I am not always to reflect just what I receive

I am not to repay evil with evil, and I know that

Yet still,

I stand holding a one-way mirror

I see them through the vanity

Sitting in front of themselves

I see the hatred boiling

My surroundings give out such but how dare I give them back

How I dare I not lie down and let myself be stepped on

Right?

Wrong

This is a two-way street right?

I guess not-

I guess I thought wrong

The waters, have been rising for too long

I guess it's time to let this bridge burn

I prefer- to fight for relationship

But I can't see through the smoke in the air

Must I stay, unequally yoked?

With whom who don't provoke or promote any growth?

No

I wonder whatever happened to "Treat people how you want to be treated"

"Love your neighbor as yourself" right?

Is it that they don't love themselves?

Do we not look into the same mirror?

Broken glass but be that as it may

What does the reflection portray?

Why throw at me what they see in the mirror?

Assumptions against which I'm not allowed to disagree?

If one tells a lie about me, I can tell two truths about them

But I won't, for the sake of peace

Even if it's not returned

The place for vengeance does not lay in my hands

My forgiveness is not infinite-

And although I am saved by such I am limited in the grace I can give

There's a lot more toil in the higher of standards

As far as anything depends on me I attempt to be at peace with everyone

But-

When it depends on them

There's options for opposition

So many buttons to press

Will I return their favor?

I cannot

I'm called to live peaceably with all

As all possible,

Even of that peace is not returned

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetryFriendshipFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.