Poets logo

The Trauma Department

The title is a rip off of Taylor Swift’s ‘The Tortured Poets Department.’ I have listened to the entire album, but the title was very thought provoking. ‘The Trauma Department’ is talking to and talking through trauma from the past, in present time. This is something I’ve been working through with my therapist and an amazing group of guys in my life.

By Josh MorganPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
Like

i'm a poet, and the world knows it

although i wouldn't say that i'm tortured

i sow from the walls of the world's smallest apartment

i reap in the trauma department,

hired by the clinical definition

am i cynical? no– just sinful by repetition

all but bad intention

wrongs i can't right are not left behind, not quite

tear-flooded eyes hide behind a mask which reeks of lies

the fumes of fear are not so quiet-

screams from the well i can't quite tell about

my turn of phrase spells out the hell from which i've broken out

there's a drop of ink for every not so little thing–

every single thought, that i wish i had forgot

placed on the top shelf, feeling no intention to reach up that far again–

every word, re-termed, and returned, to my younger self

discreet– a letter, from the trauma department

"to you this concerns..." –an invitation

to healing–

a journey, to restoration

Request FeedbackStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetryMental Healthinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.