Poets logo

No raven

same message

By Meagan DionPublished about a year ago 1 min read
14
Illustrated by Meagan Dion

I was no Snow White, nor Edgar Alan Poe,

He was no raven, no omen

A friend not a foe

Wore a mask but no trinket he'd stolen

My slumbering eyes opened to a sunny day

Roman shades gleaming in an unnatural way

Then came his usual greeting, he flew up just to say

"Hey"

A gentle familiar rapping

A frequenter of my window pane

I'd even given him a name

Agape

Filled with joy I leapt out of bed

But slowly I noticed a feeling of dread

The sound he was making was far from normal

There was no rap tap but a sound much more horrible

Thud

Thud

Thud

I hurried to the curtains and pulled them back

He rammed himself repeatedly against the glass

I pleaded with him to call off the attack

But he was unable to see he could not pass

Too many times he smashed his small frame

Too many times I pleaded and called out his name

Too many times, too many to be said

Until he dropped, motionless in the grass dead

There he lay tiny, frail and alone

A small life never again to be known

I awoke the next morning in a cold sweat

But the message was one I did not fret

Until later at church I heard the news

A friend made a choice no one should choose

His was a death we'd all regret

I was no Snow White, nor Edgar Alan Poe,

He was no raven, no omen

A friend not a foe

He wore a black mask but was someone I'd know

No trinket he took but a life was stolen

And the black message he brought left us broken

sad poetry
14

About the Creator

Meagan Dion

My life is a little crazy. Four kids, homeschool, write, create and coffee. Coffee is a verb. Do you coffee? I aspire to blow glass and finish / publish my novel. I would like to have an impact. Also, coffee.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    😪🖤

  • Talia Devora10 months ago

    Very emotional and beautiful. Keep up the amazing creative work!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    This is a sensational poem, Meagan! The repetition of the first three lines at the end are very effective.

  • Oneg In The Arctic10 months ago

    Oh damn poet. Nicely done.

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    working rhyme to to join metere and intention - without forcing - is a delicate balance, Meagan. I do love your intention here very much. I hope you continue to build this, as its structure is very coool, indeed!

  • Very good , and I have a poem on here called "Another Raven" which you may enjoy if you like Poe. I really enjoyed your poem , it seemed to slip by like a real dream

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Impressive 💕💖

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my goodness. That was heartwrenching. Very well done.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Wow! The parallels were emotional but the story in the poem is just incredible. I think I just read the winner!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    This was touching. Creativity clever and sweet

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.