Poets logo

The Box

A recurring dream

By Meagan DionPublished about a year ago 2 min read
17
Illustrated by Meagan Dion

Time after time

I wash up on the shore

Of my own subconscious

And find a house I've always known

But have forgotten

I'm standing

In an ornate room

For sitting

Ivy wallpaper

Creeping

Cherry grandfather clock

Ticking

Ticking

Ticking

Ticking

Hour hand at three

That's when I remember

It's a house I've always known

The place I'm meant to be

A place I've been before

But have forgotten

The last time

And the time before that

And wait

There's something else...

Of course

The box

The secret, priceless box

Hidden deep inside

The house I've always known

But have forgotten

Time ticks

And I know this too

I have to hurry before I wake

Fast

Find the box

Where did I look last

The clock is

Ticking

Ticking

Ticking

I search bookcases

Like before

Feel along the mantle

Like before

I touch the gilded mirror

Wait, that's right

Feel the cool glass until it ripples

Yes, that was it

I reach in

And then step through the glass

Fast

Find the box

Where did I look last

The clock is

Ticking

Ticking

Behind fur coats in closets

Like before

Under stairs, in hidden doors

like before

Climb the staircase to the turret

Wait that's right

At the top, in the ivy covered room

Yes, that was it

I step in

The night sky bleeds in through the glass

Fast

Find the box

Where did I look last

The clock is barely

Ticking

On the edge of the conservatory

The room I have worn a path to

Like pages of an old story

One I've already told

But have forgotten

There at the edge of the fading room

A bench by a window

Heart pounding

Run to it

Fast

Find the box

This is where I looked last

Open the bench

Slowly

I've found the box

I clutch it to my chest

Overwhelmed with joy

Now to open it

I lift the lid to find…

I have awoken

The clock has stopped

Like before

Until the next time

I wash up on the shore

Of my own subconscious

And find a house

I have always known

But have forgotten

And a clock that's

Ticking

Ticking

Ticking

Ticking

fact or fiction
17

About the Creator

Meagan Dion

My life is a little crazy. Four kids, homeschool, write, create and coffee. Coffee is a verb. Do you coffee? I aspire to blow glass and finish / publish my novel. I would like to have an impact. Also, coffee.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    🖤💚

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    You are a very talented writer and talented artist as well ❤️

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    This is such a neat idea. I'm going to assume this is based on a dream? If so, I have similar things happen to me behind the back of my eyelids. Really cool poem :)

  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    Subscribed 😊💕

  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    Wow 😲 Very cool 😎

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    I absolutely love this fated dance with time! What an awesome poem!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Excellent, Meagan. Has a Poe-like feel!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Has a wonderful musical quality to it, thanks.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Reading felt like a dream. Very, very well done.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Terrific and dreamy!!!💕💖

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Cognitive thriller! Love the poem and your personal art is fantastic!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Yes!!! I loved the countdown of the 'ticking' and the remembering but not remembering. That had a great dream-like quality. Well done!

  • A wonderfully crazy dream poem and love the visual almost stiletto form it takes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.