Poets logo

No one

Poem.

By Paul StewartPublished 10 months ago β€’ 1 min read
24

No one noticed, no one cared.

Every day struggling

To keep it together

-

Every time problems arose;

She handled them herself

*

No one noticed, no one cared.

As the pressure got to her

She knew she could not give up

-

As she nursed wounds

mental and physical

*

No one noticed, no one cared

Silent tears, unheard complaints

Kept her head down, ashamed

-

Every step forward she made

Life kicked her right back

*

No one noticed, no one cared.

Every time something went wrong

She put on a brave face

-

The hurt she held deep within

Wages of other's errors and sins

*

No one noticed, no one cared.

Hurt she tried to push aside,

she fought with day and night

-

Just kept going, despite it all

Struggling, but surviving

*

No one noticed, no one cared

-

Would you?

*

Thanks for reading!

This originally started as a microfiction about a homeless woman, but as I wrote it, it became something else different.

If you have time and inclination here are a couple of other recently published pieces:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

performance poetrysocial commentarysad poetryheartbreak
24

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • π‘πŒ π’π­π¨πœπ€π­π¨π§10 months ago

    Wow! Powerful words. I volunteer at a homeless shelter, and I have known many who fit this description. I like to think I would notice and care, but the reality is there are many times I see people struggling and do little to help. This is a call to action to do more! Thank you, Paul! πŸ™

  • Roy Stevens10 months ago

    Truth! I imagine we all wish we could care even more but there just isn't enough of us...

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    A very poignant piece. I see how this is the pre-cursor to your other introspective poem, β€˜Noticed, Cared’. Both great poems!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    I agree with Donna on her take on how you decided to change directions after staring the writing project as something else. You noticed And you cared to see it become a great poem. πŸ’–

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Paul this was a beautiful poem! I love the anecdote that you shared about this starting as a micro fiction and it went another direction! This really makes me smile, a sign of a great author (in my opinion) is not bending the will of the story to do your bidding but bending to the will of the story. The line β€œNo one noticed, no one cared.” Hit hard each time you repeated it, feeling heavier with each syllable each time. This was such an emotional poem for me, really thought provoking and cause for some self reflection! Nicely done Paul!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I study people I know very closely, so I’m sure I would. I can also just feel when someone is not fine, no matter how they behave. I have the opposite problem of caring about people more than they care about themselves, which has burned me in the past. But at least if I could make a difference, I know I would. Very thought provoking poem, Paul! Thanks for publishing this, and I like the inclusion of how this started out differently. I always think those are the best pieces of writing, when they flow out almost independently of the writer.

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    Hmm, people can hide it so well though. Behind laughter, anger, distance...not hard to do really. And do people notice? They've got their own stuff that no one is noticing. Such a sad reality as we go about our days being independent and self-sufficient. When community isn't embraced but divided. Very thought-provoking piece. Wonderfully penned :)

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    If we see/aid just one person in need, therein we begin. Our busy lives get darker and darker, spare a moment to see one life. Your heart will thank you.

  • This was so emotional! It's so sad to know that many go unnoticed.

  • Brenton F10 months ago

    Sad but so true!

  • Ahna Lewis10 months ago

    This carried such an important message! Thanks for this reminder to truly see those around us. Excellent work, Paul!

  • I wish I could answer, "Yes," to your query. But we all know that someone always goes unnoticed whenever there is more than one involved.

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    As always, your words are so pure and powerful! I loved the repetition in this. Amazing, thoughtful work! ❀️

  • ARC10 months ago

    Amazingly powerful piece, Paul. Thank you for sharing this with us. And I love your inclusion of the journey this piece went on to reach us in its current form! Beautiful work, friend πŸ’™

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I'd like to think so.

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Oooh, such an emotionally stirring piece, Paul! Beautifully done! I hope I would notice! πŸ’«πŸ’•

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    OMG!!! Left a heart!!!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Oh damn. I sure hope I would notice.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.