Poets logo

No One Knows What I Really Look Like

Because I Never Show my Face

By Daniel Freeman Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
No One Knows What I Really Look Like
Photo by Joshua Sortino on Unsplash

But you don’t need to know

Because then you’d be worried

And I know how far you’d go

So I’ll keep my face buried

//

Then you won’t have to see

Any more than you should

And you can leave on the waves

Sailing on your ship of driftwood

//

Away from my salty smear

Finally flowing free

No longer stranded here

On the island of me

//

Because I don’t want anyone

To find what I’m hiding here

Go back where you came from

Go sail the blue sphere

//

I know you’ll find someone

Who deserves your company

Because I can tell you now that anyone else

Would be better than me

//

You won’t find what’s beneath the dirt

No matter how hard you try

Go away before I get hurt

Trying to look at you in the eye

It stings so much

//

Don’t look at me

Please

Stop

Go

Does it make you happy, seeing the tears I buried?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Freeman

A friend accidentally got me into writing, and now I can't stop

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.