Poets logo

No More

A poem about a woman who has had enough

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
25
No More
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

The light danced its way into the darkness

and I caught a glimpse of myself in the broken mirror.

I blinked

and automatically looked away,

surprised

by the reflection of the new woman

whose face looked familiar.

I had not seen her in years.

I wanted to return to that safe place;

protected by layers of bricks

completely encircled around me

until I did what was necessary–

breaking through those walls I had created

which served not as a protection

but more so of imprisonment.

I had finally become free.

...

He thought I wouldn’t walk away,

always living a life of pretense.

Surrounded by lilies

and daisies amongst soft pillow grass,

always living through such a lens.

I walked

like a queen bee

with molten honey in my veins.

Everything around was perfect,

I surely lived up to that facade.

Then...

***

The ground beneath his feet changed,

it was no longer made of gold.

The handsome face slowly melted away

leaving behind his ugly soul.

I stepped back hurriedly

trying to get away

from this thing that I now see.

It wasn’t human.

I was convinced.

Gone was the man that I

pretended he was to me.

***

I saw the grin on his face when he said,

“What, you think you’re gonna leave me?”

Then he laughed and continued,

“You’ll be nothing without me!”

I heard the change in his tone

when I turned my back and walked away.

Ignored all his commands,

I had made my decision to do as I want

and not as he says.

***

That’s when he touched me, you see,

I should have expected it.

I should have known

that he would never let me walk away willingly.

My reflexes kicked in and I immediately pushed him,

saw him slide across the floor.

I watched as rage engulfed his whole being,

as he lunged forth and slid once more.

Was this really the man I had lived for?

His sight began to disgust me.

***

If he had only known that obedient me had cleared all the accounts,

packed my bags and changed my name,

began working on my new start.

All those years I stayed pretending,

listening to him call me a fool.

Little did he know,

I was becoming my own tool.

***

I told them everything he did.

All the lies that spewed from that hateful mouth.

What he did to his own family–

how did he come to inherit all this money…

Just as he followed me outside,

he was surrounded by guns and flashing lights.

I heard him scream

just like a little kid,

saying he’d come after me,

calling me every filthy name he could speak.

***

There was no need to entertain him,

only a weak woman would.

***

Now,

I was standing strong

leaving him behind

whilst walking into my future.

I adjusted

and finally learned

how to properly wear my crown.

....

Thank you for reading. This poem was originally published here.

inspirational
25

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.