Poets logo

No more doubts

I guess, subconsciously, for no reason at all, I'd still been hoping for a different ending...not an ending at all

By Kelly MendozaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

How do you still have the ability to slay me

without saying a thing?

If words carry weight

how much more does silence bring?

I hate that I am still weak,

that you still have this power.

After all this time you'd think

I'd no longer be counting the hours.

But the thought of you still makes me ache,

remembering your smile makes my eyes fill,

reading your words makes the tears flow,

and my heart stutters in my chest still.

Today I guess I'd been holding on,

waiting and wondering if you would reach out

but as the day draws to a close

I remind myself it's over beyond a doubt.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Kelly Mendoza

As a newly single mother of 2, I've found myself with extra time on my hands . Whether it's fantasy or paranormal , reading and writing has always been an escape for me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.