Poets logo

No Labels.

my true colors

By tristinrosePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon from Pexels

Not unlike the aisles in the grocery stores,

Humans are a conglomeration of different packaging.

Varying contents within.

We come into this world,

Fresh creatures with no tags.

No labels.

No sticker on our sides to tell us our values.

We are not made of distinct numbers.

No percentages.

No daily value of specific sexuality,

No grams of a certain identity,

No serving sizes of who we are supposed to be.

We are born with these things inside of us.

However, we are never meant to have a perfect sticker,

Explaining to the world who we are indefinitely.

No absolute label.

I may be pink and blue with an overlapping purple.

Possibly, instead, with overlapping yellow.

I am red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple.

I don’t have a sticker to tell me what percent blue I am.

No marker of my grams of pink.

And no tag of my serving size of the rainbow .

No label.

My packaging has no fact sheet tacked on.

My contents can not be described outwardly.

And my heart is content.

social commentary

About the Creator

tristinrose

Life is beautiful.

Things happen right when they are meant to.

I believe the world needs more love.

And people should read more.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    tristinroseWritten by tristinrose

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.