Poets logo

No goodbyes

My happiness left but the pain of you gone stayed

By Siya oliphant Published about a year ago 1 min read
Now you far from reach

The morning was off to a wonderful start. I felt joyful.On the day you passed away, I left my daily routine behind and went to school. The school was excellent, emphasis on excellent. Why was the day going well? I experienced only enjoyment and no pain. I question myself, "Why?" As soon as I step inside the home, my disposition changes and the outside temperature drops. As if this would have been better on any other day, I questioned why it had to be today. A breeze suddenly brushed my face as I climbed the stairs. As I walk into your room, I can already feel the tears starting to form beneath my eyes. Just as I was ready to open the door, it swings open to reveal you. You lying there is all I can see. I go slowly in the hopes that you will stand up. I'm on my knees, looking down at your lifeless body. My hand freezes when I put it on your face out of sadness and other unexplainable feelings. I get sight of you and understand why I voluntarily choose to be joyful today. I had a sneaking suspicion that from now on, tomorrow, and for years to come, I would never be happy.

I squint my eyes and start to cry. Not because of your untimely death, but rather because you left with saying goodbye .

sad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Zanele about a year ago

    💔🥺

SOWritten by Siya oliphant

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.