Poets logo

No. 16 The Wind in the Willows

A poem that definitely pays homage to the legendary series of stories I grew up on. Like if you get it.

By Alan JohnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
No. 16 The Wind in the Willows
Photo by eberhard grossgasteiger on Unsplash

All the willows are weeping this cold winter morning

As I shamble and ramble along

The world is still sleeping despite all the breaking

As my heart and my life come undone

The chill of the wind bites into my soul

I don't know where to go

Excepts towards you

And I know that you're here and you're holding my heart

As I lift up this weary song on this lonely road

The chill of the wind bites into my soul

I don't know where to go

Excepts towards you

The love that you ask of me is love that you give me

You view me as a son

I don't know

What am I getting into?

With reckless love

It's splitting my world in two

Who are you?

You're the way

And you show me how to live

Truth

Never failing to forgive

Life

And you're so much bigger than this

Than this

Than this

The way

Showing me how to live

Truth

Always you forgive

Life

So much bigger than any of this

Any of this

You are the light of the world and of heaven

That much I have known

But I'm the light of the world

A light meant to be shown

I will go

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alan John

I'm a Virginia based writer/musician looking to find my place in this wild wild world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.