Poets logo

=// nights \\=

February Write Club Challenge

By Tommy BallardPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
=// nights \\=
Photo by Thula Na on Unsplash

Although I already put in an entry for RM Stockton's February Write Club challenge, I thought of this last night while I was in bed thinking of this prompt and felt it worthwhile to write it down for the challenge as well. The challenge is embedded below.

=// nights \\=

When you left, everybody told me it would pass in time,

Yet instead you've become the monster under my bed,

Your arms reaching out from below me, pushing down hard on my chest,

Sometimes I find you suffocating me.

I lie in the dark, I try my hardest to think of other things,

But I know it's futile to fight it on the nights you come to me with bloody claws unsheathed.

My lungs feel punctured with the mere thought of your presence,

I know you're not really some otherworldly being, nor really here,

But it often seems you could be from the power you hold on me,

I thought of you last night, it became difficult to breathe.

Sometimes I think your bile has stained everything,

I couldn't even escape you when I slumbered, you're the monster that keeps haunting my dreams.

heartbreakFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    These monsters are so real, human, demons, imps and all the emotive beastly horrors. great poem.

  • This is haunting, Tommy! You paint a vivid picture of the anguish of loss and longing. That is a ferocious monster that can consume us. “The monster that keeps haunting my dreams.” Another fantastic entry, Tommy! Well done!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Wonderful piece. "the monster that keeps haunting my dreams." I understand all to well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.