Poets logo

Night Terrors: I won't sleep

Poem by Lilian Wicca

By Lilian Wicca Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Night Terrors: I won't sleep
Photo by Pelly Benassi on Unsplash

I cannot fear dreams, they are not true,

why must I feel so stuck in their twisted plots?

showing me visions that shake me to my very core,

creating new anxiety scenario's for me to obsess over,

for months that feel like centuries,

this pain, this unbearable agony that every night,

I will not doze into slumber,

It is four twenty-five in the morning and I sit here,

typing away as if these words could vanquish my terrors,

truth is that, in voices we speak and in minds we think,

but, why is it so difficult to connect the two?

These visions swallow me whole,

forcing me to struggle and fight my own mind,

as if I were two different beings,

my strength fades, my hope flees,

my love for anything begins to depart,

like a plane with no pilot and no destination,

In which one of these night time traps was I left?

and,

Where have I gone?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lilian Wicca

In a world of lovely things we often find ourselves surrounded by endings. If I am to end someday, I'd like to be buried with the words of my thoughts

I'm a 19 year old poet, I love to write about love/death.

If you enjoy, please subscribe:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.