Poets logo

Night drives♡

At night when I'm in the car, driving past lights and down roads, I find a place of peace that is like no other.

By Campbell DieselPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

The lights are always right.

I know I’m going somewhere if I’m nowhere.

There is a certainty of a destination as we cross the pavement.

Lights pass, I could stare all night.

I don't need a screen or even book when I can have this as my look.

Between the hum of the motor and my heart, I feel as though I'm traveling worlds apart.

Lights glow from buildings that,

like a clock,

look beautiful and right once or twice a night.

They are warm and serene.

As tires roll across pavement,

I lean towards the air vent.

Windows are fogged as I warm my hands,

cupping them together like a prayer to the big man.

Perhaps a song plays through the air, I'd say I don't care,

but the melody always seems to enhance the serenity.

I shift on leather, longing to half shut my eyes, trying to memorize.

Freedom and certainty, I always hold close to this shift of gravity.

With a twist and a turn, around street corners and avenues,

I take my turn of daydreaming while the sun is at its own venue.

I image just how we are rolling across the ground,

a new destination, a new treasure always to be found.

It's the glow of the lights that always catch my breath,

like the sun has died a perfect death,

leaving only light bulbs and headlights as a memory to her fiery life.

Nothing will ever comfort in the way a night drive does,

that's when we shut our eyes,

when we listen to the breathing around us,

to the people who surround us.

Graduation night we drove with the windows down,

after my party you left the radio down.

I gazed out the window, as I felt blue,

I said was fine,

we both knew it wasn't true.

In those seats, at that hour, I couldn't see,

I dropped my ice cream, all the while you sang country.

Every memory made in these cars,

illuminated by headlights and stop signs,

have a special place in my heart, a destination I visit,

a place of comfort I won't ever taint,

because I know they were and are truly great.

----Thank you so much for reading, I hope these words could inspire or maybe just be nice to you♡ Remember to treat those good memories kindly♡

artinspirationallove poems
1

About the Creator

Campbell Diesel

Hi! I'm really glad you're here! I appreciate knowing others enjoy the work I love doing! I write all types of stories! FYI I'm a pet, ice cream, cheescake lover, with a thing for country music and The Mummy 1999 movie:) #GoodSlytherin;)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.