Poets logo

POV. You emotionally broke free.

I take comfort that people can have moments like this, where they can realize at any time, (not just in tv and movies-but in real, everyday life. No matter how old, young, when, or where) that it wasn’t their fault. That they were wronged, that they want something better, and most of all, that they can and are capable of breaking free. Believe me.

By Campbell DieselPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Just cause I messed up don’t mean I never had value.

I’m a flight risk, it’s true.

But I’ll never leave you black and blue.

Nah, that’s more like you.

Looking back it was always the wrong way around,

the weak getting thrown to the ground.

You’re the one who always pushed me when I was down.

I’ve been a clown.

I thought I’d found a path,

really I was just retracing my tracks.

But not today,

I opened my curtains,

gave the money back,

and dumped all that crap.

I found a cross and a biblical book.

The man who walked on water wants to walk with me too,

despite all that I took.

My mama, she picked up the phone on the second ring.

You always said she’d want nothin to do with me.

My baby, she’s wearing another man’s diamond bling.

But who can blame her,

all I ever tried to do was tame her.

It’s the only way you taught me.

A man that could actually gain her loyalty, that was never me,

can’t ask for something you’re not first.

I know that now, even though it hurts.

You were the one who doubted me,

who gave me that map,

all while you laughed behind my back.

The paths I blazed that you swore were so great,

you said I was making my own way.

But it was nothing more than your old stomping grounds,

you knew just how my life would turn out.

Every step I took was an old memory you’d already made,

I was the next you, being led to an early grave.

You never cared about my heart.

You just wanted your cut, your part.

You waded through deep waters called deception,

to throw off the scent from your addiction.

I reckon you might as well have been on my shoulder,

for how heavy I carried both our burdens.

I’ll never forget all that you taught me,

I renamed your playbook

-your monotony.

Every step and footnote, it’s all how I’m gonna rebuild,

how I’m gonna win, looking forward to my mansion.

The one here on earth, and up in heaven.

Been dreaming about a better life since I was eleven.

Everything you said to do, every cheating thing that makes me despise you,

I’ll turn from every one.

You say left, I’m running right.

You say curse, I’ll be on my knees praying every night.

I’m gonna find me a life, then God willing a wife,

the girl you never said I deserved.

The children you always had me swearing away.

I’ll build it all, make you see one day.

Yeah, so maybe some of it’s just outta spite.

But I reckon when it comes to you,

that motivation is just right.

I know I got a problem with pride, but that’s between me and the big guy.

For now, every venomous word you said,

is like a tattoo, from my foot to my head,

the list of all that I’m gonna do,

now that I’m finally away from you.

artinspirational
1

About the Creator

Campbell Diesel

Hi! I'm really glad you're here! I appreciate knowing others enjoy the work I love doing! I write all types of stories! FYI I'm a pet, ice cream, cheescake lover, with a thing for country music and The Mummy 1999 movie:) #GoodSlytherin;)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.