Poets logo

Nigh Inconsequent

Dancing with Distraction - Syllable Diminishing Poem

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
10
Nigh Inconsequent
Photo by Taylor Deas-Melesh on Unsplash

Diluted with the nonsense of daily life, our minds go numb

Infatuated with the noise coming from all around us

Strapped, our imagination becomes, through daily fight

Though life concusses dreams, endless. But We adjust

Regain our wisdom with positivity

And push through the vulnerability

Causes for success we find among

The truth, in equanimity

Infernal be the struggle

Of unseen consequence

Nigh inconsequent

************

Author's note: I recently read a diminishing poem written by Dharsheena Segarran which inspired me to write this poem. I wanted to add a little twist to this form of poetry, so instead of diminishing letters from the last words in each line, I diminished syllables (from 15 down to 5). I hope you like the poem.

See below to check out Dharsheena's poem that i mentioned:

social commentaryinspirational
10

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Mohammed this was so great! I love that you put your own twist on this poem format, diminishing syllables instead of letters! So clever and it reads so well too! Great work!

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I found your diminishing poem. Can’t believe I missed it, it’s so good! “Infatuated with the noise coming from all around us Strapped, our imagination becomes, through daily fight Though life concusses dreams, endless. But We adjust” Very true and unfortunate. This is an astute social commentary. 💔

  • Very well done Mohammed. I like your twist with the diminishing syllables... Very creative!!!

  • Oh wow this is so cool! At first I was wondering where's the diminished word ans I only realised what you diminished when I got to the end. This was so creative. Makes me feel like I wanna try this too!

  • Okay, Good Job, This is Excellent work❗

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Very good, Mohammed! Profound and introspective. I really like your idea to reduce the syllables, impressive!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Well done, Mohammed, and such a nice touch to share Darrsheena's poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.