Poets logo

New Start

Poem

By GenevievePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
New Start
Photo by Ryan Byrne on Unsplash

If only you knew where I have been,

if only you could see the pain that I hold inside.

For myself I have had so many dreams,

with them blowing in the wind, the pain I cannot hide.

I was not too sure where you stood,

but I knew that I cared.

I found it hard to let you in,

for to repeat the past left me scared.

I could not put my heart at stake,

not when your feelings were not clear.

But this pain I can no longer take,

for I have found what I have always feared.

I know it's sad that it took me so long to see,

But I wasn't quite sure until I lost you.

Although memories of the past won't let me be,

I can't help but realize that I love you.

I know that you might not feel the same,

and that you might have forgotten about me.

When it comes to us, there's only me to blame,

for it took me way too long to see.

Although I am sure that you will move on,

there will always be a place for you in my heart.

For you were the light that shone,

that gave my heart a new start.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Genevieve

Learning to process the experiences of life, my own or those of others, brought me to turn my feelings into words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.