Poets logo

New Me

Sometimes I wonder if an old me would be proud of who I've become. Sometimes I wonder if an old me would be disappointed. Sometimes I wish that I could go back in time and start my life over again.

By Lika TsoiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5

Today I woke up, and the world still looked grey.

Another attempt to get through one more day.

Sadly, I have lost my rose-tinted glasses,

I’ve skipped lots of meals and most of my classes.

The tears keep falling; my heart’s slowly breaking.

The food tastes bitter, and my hands are shaking.

The sun is not shining; the grass is not green.

Life is not like the movies. I’m no longer eighteen.

I look at the world from a different perspective.

My thighs are too big. I don’t think I’m attractive.

I’m failing my classes; I don’t think I’m smart.

Wait, give me a minute. I have to restart.

Today I woke up, and the world looked much better.

I had my breakfast and received a letter,

The one that I wrote when I was fifteen,

And where I talked about my biggest dream.

My life at fifteen was more like a movie.

When I was fifteen, my life was so groovy.

I explored the world, and my grades were good.

I wasn’t so lonely, and I was understood.

I wanted to be a better version of me,

Go to the uni and get my degree.

I wanted to make my mother proud.

I had no problems, and I was on a cloud.

Today I woke up and decided to change.

Not skipping meals feels very strange.

The weather is warm, and the sky is so blue.

There are many things that I want to do.

The world is so huge; I want to explore.

I want to do things that I used to adore.

I will stop crying; I’ll take myself on a date.

I’ll stop feeling lonely and I’ll learn how to skate.

I’ll start looking at life through rose-tinted glasses.

My life will be better. I’ll go back to my classes.

I’ll learn to love myself and be truly thankful.

Tomorrow I’ll wake up, and I will be grateful.

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Lika Tsoi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.