Poets logo

Never Met

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
3
Never Met
Photo by Billy Pasco on Unsplash

Sometimes I wish I had never met you

Because when you’re not here

I think of you

I fear

There was nothing ever there

Between us

Something beyond lust

I may never know

Will either of us

Show our inner thoughts

We’ve been taught to hide them away

Perhaps

On a better day

I tested the boundaries

As far as I felt I could push

Without pushing you away

Or making you uncomfortable that day

I hear everything you say

And want to respond anyway

But I can’t

Because we’re locked in freedom's cage

All I feel is rage

Because I want to tell you all

But must heed duty’s call

Or let it all fall down

Is it even worth it?

When everything is burning

To suppress my yearning

To feel you close once again

Just one more time

Just to know my desires were reflected

And not outright rejected

Which is more painful?

To have fallen

Knowing there could have been more

Or to know

You were never in my reach

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
3

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    Cyrano could have written this. Well done, my friend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.