Poets logo

Never Leave Me Alone

lonesome and sad

By Christian BassPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Never Leave Me Alone
Photo by Warren on Unsplash

Drizzling snow when I walked along the sparkling town

I saw two men talking with each other, I looked down

And felt loneliness coming up

All alone I stood in front of the pub

Slowly, and with tears in my eyes, I walked home

Deep inside I could feel my freezing heart of stone

A small jacket on my shoulder, I beard

After the message I have heard

That no friend I have in this bloody town

With lonesome crying eyes, I looked down

*

Never - I'm lonesome and sad

Leave Me - slowly I go mad

Alone - I'm lonesome and sad

And it doesn't matter what I say

All alone, no-one can exist one more day!

*

I'm sitting at the station

All alone and feel the loneliness

Of the whole nation -

Far away from my natural happiness

Waiting for the train back home

Where he's waiting all alone

To be in love can be a treasure

Lonesome you're only under pressure

With my pocket full of money

And a guy who calls me honey

I am on my way,

Out of this lonely bay

*

Never - there's no luck we had

Leave Me - why can't we be glad

Alone - there's no luck we had

And it doesn't matter what I say

All alone, no-one can exist one more day!

***

I wrote this when I was 21, shortly after I returned to the city I grew up in. A relationship ended, put me out of our home in Amsterdam. At that time I felt lonely and most of all defeated by the circumstances. I never wanted to return to my parents house, yet I had no other choice. It took me another year until I finally left for good.

Thank you for reading. Please also check out my other work:

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Christian Bass

An author, who writes tales of human encounters with nature and wildlife. I dive into the depths of the human psyche, offering an insights into our connection with the world around us, inviting us on a journeys.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This seemed like song lyrics and I sang it to my own tune! I'm so sorry for what you went through though. I hope writing this at that time made you feel better

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.