Poets logo

Never Enough

Lost Touch

By Ecarg NosivePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

It would have been better if you had lied, if you didn’t feel genuine feelings inside.

In those instances of lost pride, I saw the best side of you, I saw your light.

But then something changed and it didn’t feel right, you acted different, your darkness you could no longer hide.

I wanted to make you mine but you were no longer in my sight.

I searched but I knew you weren’t coming back, not for me, maybe for them.

I lost you, and watched it happen, my anxiety wouldn’t have it.

I drank thinking it would help me feel less, I smoked a whole pack of cigarettes, all I wanted was what we had.

Oh, how I miss that.

You told me I was perfect, how you liked me so much. You told me I was home, well then why didn’t you touch me?

I was combusting to become your nothing, I became nothing, I am nothing.

But still I touched you, I needed to. It was the only time you focused on me, the only time we felt complete, yet that became not enough, and I knew we’d never reach love.

Here I am, still not giving up, but you have, I can feel the lack of.

I can feel everything. Your feelings and mine. I understand your side, I did the same thing to you, but the difference is I tried, and it worked until you faded.

Your light dimmed before I could make it there.

Your soul quit, and I was left to stare at everything I was afraid of.

Wondering what changed us.

Feeling far too much, I just wanted to be numb. So I did what I used to, what I knew worked. I slid in to my skin with a blade, it didn’t hurt.

It felt good to harm the problem. It felt good to rid of the drama. It felt good to watch the blood drip and let the pain fall with it.

Now I feel the same as you, I thought. Now we’re on the same page, we’re stopped. Could we have saved us? Or not? I don’t know all I know is you are what I want.

But it’s okay, it’s alright. I’ve been through far worse things in life. At least now I feel the nothing I am. I escaped myself, just like you ran.

I’m just a cry baby with no plans of ever trying to fall in love again because every time I get so close, they slam the door in my face with no notice.

I am potent with poison, I should warn the next one that I’m not what they want. There shouldn’t be a next one, everyone’s better off when I’m alone.

Next time a door opens, I’ll walk the other way, probably still thinking of our memories.

I wish today was yesterday when you held me so tight I could feel our souls collide, when you looked at me with those eyes and said “you’re mine” and meant it. That smile, your hair. I need to stop, I must stop. I don’t regret it...

I just wish I was enough.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ecarg Nosive

I'm a 27 year old writer from Ohio trying to make my passion, my career. Besides writing I enjoy animals, nature, and concerts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.