Poets logo

Nested

Resting My Bones

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

After a lifetime as a vagrant

without a home beside my soul

Living in places with people

but only feeling at home inside my bones

I finally found a home

to call my own

I knew it was home

When I saw the golden Bagua mirror

above the front door

My room came pre-saged

My housemates used their strength

to help me move in my belongings

They respected everything I said

They went out of their way

to comfort me

Sometimes we do tarot

to bring clarity to our questions

Sometimes we have gatherings around the fire

if I’m around and if I can stay awake

We have this ongoing Tetris tournament

Lisa is an artist

& she loves rocks

almost as much as me

When she saw my rock collection

Her eyes sparkled with glee

She knows a famous geologist

I have only read about in

scientific papers

& sacred manuscripts

Tim & Will

both make music

& love fire spinning too

They love that I roam the house

singing jazz and blues



There's trails for me to explore

There's a lake for my solace

Deers peep through my window

Turkey’s run about the yard

The stone face we named “Henry”

protects my car

I hear the patoo of the owl at night

I hear the subtle soar of planes fly by

I hear the symphony of frogs croak

as the sun sets over the city’s night

That’s how I know it’s my home

My dad even approves

“This place suits you, Doobie.”

“I’m glad you’re here now.”



I finally unpacked my life

from unmarked boxes

I just threw together

when I was in distress

Leaving behind a mess

But I knew the universe had conspired

to give me something better

Now I’m home

I can rest my bones

Because this little bird

has nested



fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.