Poets logo

Doubters & Distractions

"Don't Pay Any Attention To Them. They're Just False Alarms. You Get A Lot Of Them In The Labyrinth. Especially When You're On The Right Track." -Hoggle

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m on the precipice

of greatness

*

I know that for a fact

because that’s when

all the misanthropists

beg you to question

your direction

*

Put you down

and serve you sorrow

with their suggestions

*

Just when you’re on the brink of genius

is when they confidently doubt you

*

Just when you’re on the brink of freedom

is when they slip poison in your soup

*

The jealous ones will

try to hold you back

because as it goes

misery loves company

*

but I refuse to wallow

in someone else's woes

*

I’ve seen it all before

so I know better

not to succumb

to the madness

of diverting my path

to follow the ones

carved by other's

suggestions

*

I’m on the precipice

of greatness

and I’m well aware

not everyone can come with me

to the land of the enchanted

*

So I'll keep pushing forward

with my genius, my love, and my magic

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.