Poets logo

Need A Bedroom In My Life

Your Smile Is A Sweet Lie

By Haytham TrueheartPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1

With the want of sleeping safe at night to hug myself tight and know I will be alright.

I need a bedroom in my life to consume the endless fight I endure behind my eyes.

On the sofa and wooden floors insecure in a sleeping bag, I'm trapped in an embarrassment where my eyes are always sore. Unable to withdraw and snore in privacy.

From homeless shelter's, strangers houses, to my sister's home. I shatter of guilt. My niece's bedroom taken to fill her Uncle's loneliness.

I write my situation with tears and ink mixing. My body is changing, mind is turning, my spirit is demoralising, my character is degrading.

I pray the ancestors don't deny and neglect me as did my parents for them I couldn't truly afford.

I hug myself tight in the alienated silence of my pain. I stumble before my lips unsure how to voice my worth.

~ H a y t h a m T r u e h e a r t

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Haytham Trueheart

Melanesian Anglo-Celtic Aussie POET (Masig + Kiwai) On Vocal Media I write about mental health, trauma, poverty, suicide, struggle street, authenticity and healing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Wow, a description that can be for so many these days! Great job on poem and if this is you, I hope you find your own place and comfort.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.