Poets logo

Navigating Motherhood: Reflections on Choices and Loss

Journeying through Motherhood: Contemplations on Decisions and Grief

By Safa JamaPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2
Navigating Motherhood: Reflections on Choices and Loss
Photo by Alex Pasarelu on Unsplash

I contemplate the children I may or may not have. I envision their potential features, perhaps dark-brown curls and tiny fingers gently touching my face. Despite my indecision, my body seems to be making choices before my mind is ready to do so. Articulating my desires proves difficult, and I find myself caught between various potential paths. I can almost visualize the different lives I could lead, fleeting glimpses like fragments of a fading dream. I yearn to grasp these possibilities, to catch a fleeting glimpse of each potential future before it slips away. I wish to explore the essence of each life, to savor the aromas of maternal love, the sweetness of nurturing, and the challenges of parenthood.

In one scenario, I envision myself as a mother navigating the complexities of happiness. In another, I picture a life without motherhood, still grappling with the pursuit of happiness, beauty, and rest. Approaching the age of 39, I find a newfound self-love, yet nostalgia persists, creating a montage of illusions that blur memories, complicate hope, and make me yearn for things I've already mourned.

The process of bargaining is a challenging aspect of grief. It forces me to continually let go of what I've already released, and the currents of my mind bring it all back, resembling a daily flood. Each morning, as the tide retreats, I see the seafloor for what it is – a landscape of loss and renewal, akin to deciphering tea leaves for signs of the future.

In the pool of uncertainty, I contemplate the children I may never conceive, name, or embrace. Inside me lie a finite number of eggs and stories, both awaiting release. I endeavor to mourn the myriad potential futures unfolding before me, like a breathtaking display of fireworks illuminating the sky, bursting with possibilities that I struggle to articulate.

Uncertainty shrouds my desires. Each decision dissolves as it approaches the shoreline, softened by the ethereal hues of winter, reminiscent of the beach where Eliot penned "The Waste Land" a century before me. I search the tranquil waves for answers, resisting the urge to craft yet another metaphor.

Perhaps the emotions I experience defy verbal expression, too weighty to convey in language alone. Maybe in another existence, one can live out every envisioned life. Perhaps in this life, I discover my true self by embracing the unknown.

In the vast expanse of uncertainty, I find myself contemplating the children who may never grace my arms or hear their names whispered in the stillness of night. Within me resides a finite reservoir of both potential offspring and untold stories, yearning for release into the world. As I navigate this intricate web of possibilities, it feels akin to witnessing a grand spectacle of fireworks, each burst symbolizing a potential future I struggle to articulate.

Uncertainty cloaks my deepest desires, rendering each decision transient as it nears the shoreline of reality. Winter's delicate palette washes over the scene, reminiscent of the same shores where T.S. Eliot penned his introspective verses in "The Waste Land" over a century ago. Amidst the tranquility of lapping waves, I resist the temptation to cloak my thoughts in yet another metaphor, instead allowing the rawness of my emotions to surface.

Perhaps the depths of my feelings transcend the confines of language, their weight too heavy to bear solely through words. Could it be that in another realm, every imagined life finds its fruition? Perhaps, in embracing the uncertainties of this existence, I uncover the essence of my true self, navigating the labyrinth of possibilities with courage and grace. The End Thank you

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Safa Jama (Author)3 months ago

    Thank you so much,Alex

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Well written! 🥸

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.