Poets logo

Nature Haiku After the Fact

Post Road Trip

By Rob AngeliPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
12
Nature Haiku After the Fact
Photo by Jongsun Lee on Unsplash

/chasing the Eclipse

lengthwise past nighttime road; Bright

and frigid dusk Dawns\

This is all my poor equipment was able to capture, but that's ok.

I have been away from the computer for a few days, spur of the moment road-trip, and also to do some rough draft writing on projects to come.

Nice rocks, I know, but my equipment (a phone) didn't capture the weirdness of the eclipse light.

In any case, now that I'm back, with my post-eclipsed brain and eyes that will never be the same again, I've just been binge-reading the Vocal Writing Awards shortlists. It is a very intense range of reading and experience that has been fascinating, and fun to be able to participate in the judging and rating. I have some free time for reading and writing, so I'm back and operational for now. Here's some photos of more cool rocks from our cozy little zone spot:

Really cool rocks that would retain all their charm even in non-eclipse situations.

Not only mineral, but vegetable beauty:

One more:

Thanks for reading. For a better read than this, go and check out the Vocal Writing Awards Shortlists!

surreal poetrynature poetry
12

About the Creator

Rob Angeli

sunt lacrimae rerum et mentem mortalia tangunt

There are tears of things, and mortal objects touch the mind.

-Virgil Aeneid I.462

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer4 months ago

    Loved the Haiku and breathtaking imagery in those photos

  • look like you had a great adventure-- and experience watching the eclipse. After my travels i am just getting back into reading. Congrats on being able to judge the vocal awards-- i tried but only partially succeeded with my diversions taking priority. looking forward to catching up on your writing.

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    That's got to be Utah or somewhere close. I recognise their formations -Cedar Breaks if I had to guess. What a place to view an eclipse though! Wow! I mean, the place is awesome regardless but to be in somewhere where the raw power of Nature and how it shapes the land wasn't enough, to be there at the time of something so remarkable as an eclipse must have been wondrous. How did it make you feel, Rob?

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Wish I'd been there. So beautiful! Went to Arches once but I would love to see Bryce canyon in person. A gorgeous haiku, Rob. Sorry I missed this when you first published it.

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    The haiku is great, but I must say your photography is outstanding! To capture those shots on a phone takes serious talent!

  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    It reminds me of camping out beneath the stars or going hunting so early in the morning that the sun hasn't risen yet, and we'd have to wait for the cold air to sink and for the sun to warm it up again.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji7 months ago

    Really nice haiku and pics

  • Omggg I loved your Senryu and photos! Also, how many entries are there for each category?

  • Chloe7 months ago

    Woah, amazing views! That sounds sick! I have finally returned to working on a new book after.., well, just school and a very busy weekend. Glad to see you have some free time & welcome back to the land of computers.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Welcome back. Great pics and haiku.

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    Wow that looks amazing!! I have some vacation starting tomorrow (just time away from work no big plans) so even though I binged the poetry and flash fiction voting for the writing awards I’m going to take my time on the super awesome longer categories! I hope you enjoyed your trip! Are those the Utah slot cantons? They look incredible!

  • Andrei Z.7 months ago

    Cheers to post-eclipsed brains and eyes! The rocks are amazing indeed! Being on the road is something I miss.

  • Lana V Lynx7 months ago

    Beautiful haiku and pictures, looks like it was a good road trip!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.