Poets logo

Narrow crossing

Saved by a Shirttail

By James Dale MerrickPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Photo by Timothy Dykes @ Unsplash

NARROW CROSSING

Written by James D. Merrick, July 13, 2021

Upward we climb, he and I,

Our bare hands and feet seek crack and crevice.

Our panting faces flush.

Our pungent bodies sweat.

Our driven minds are heady with excitement.

We prod ourselves to reach the crossing

and its narrow walkway of decaying wood.

-

Our mighty screams of conquest pierce the air.

We reach the weathered planks and stand

wide-eyed before the sagging span.

I shudder at the glimpse of

riverbed below.

He

dares

me cross.

I hesitate,

dizzy from the height,

and take one penetrating breath.

-

A first uncertain step,

my toes grip the splintered edge.

Weathered surfaces scrape my foot.

He

Urges

Me

to

cross…I wait,

staring ahead,

hesitating, body poised.

Sun rays penetrate my eyes.

Wind menaces ‘round about me. It slaps my face, whips my shirt.

His shadow moves behind me.

-

An piece of wooden edge drops free.

I chance to follow with my eyes.

Slowly it falls, in a subtle arc.

Then wildly it descends, out of control, whipped by wind,

plummeting,

tumbling,

splattering the dust below.

-

His hand is on my back.

A nervous chuckle

flees my mouth,

wry laughter his.

We pause together on the edge.

Down again I gaze, biting my lips, clenching my fists.

My eyes fix on parched waterway,

tumbled stones,

and debris-laden

earth below.

-

I feel his body press against me.

The walkway groans.

My knees buckle.

I see the fall:

slowly at first, in a subtle arc,

then wildly it descends, out of control, whipped by wind,

plummeting,

tumbling,

splattering the dust below.

-

Jolt,

Upright.

Heart-stopping, breathless reality.

He yanks me! Pulls me! Holds me back!

Then

cautiously,

reluctantly,

releases my shirt.

-

For awhile we remain on the crossing…silent.

Eyes fixed on parched waterway,

tumbled stones,

and

debris-laden earth

below.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

James Dale Merrick

I have had a rich, and remarkable life. Sharing my adventures brings me joy.. I write about lots of things. I tell about building a home in the rainforest, becoming a life model, love, death, grief, and retiring. Please join me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.