Poets logo

Napnapped

again

By Jacob ShermanPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3
Napnapped
Photo by Kate Stone Matheson on Unsplash

Once, I was broken, becoming manifold —

the solvent ambience enfolding me

in absolving transience, untold to me

ever before or since.

An insular innocence,

involuntary amnesty

which hardened again

as I fought against it,

harshening its hold.

But as I relinquished control

and its toll of vanity,

all became moldable.

The profanity

of reason, however, soon stole

into that space,

attempting to make sense

of that intangible, ecstatic encasing,

that unmanageable genesis of unmaking...

in their arrogance, thought and action

were erasing

the pure sleep of nothingness,

painting over it, in broad and brutal

strokes,

a gaudy return to frugal

creation,

with all its I's, me's and mine's.

Even Existence's finest designs

are overshadowed by that feeling of unfeeling,

which I'd spend the rest of my days

slowing disintegrating to replicate,

hoping each new hole in me would elucidate

some method of reversion.

But backpedaling this perversion

and going forever back to sleep

is much more complicated

a task to undertake

than to be rudely shaken awake.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Jacob Sherman

The desire to read, and perhaps to write, should be cultivated and nurtured with care throughout every stage of life. For my part I will inject what strangeness and truth that I can into our written history. Expect no constants but honesty.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.