Poets logo

Naked

The Heartbeat

By Jim MoonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

NAKED

Loins clad

In full attire

To be naked with you

Is my heart’s desire

Not speaking of clothes

Or a literal undressing

Just two souls in touch

In commune and nestling

To know that our heartbeats

Are so intertwined

To know you never doubt

What’s on my mind

Words never spoken

You know how I feel

Bodies fully clothed

Souls naked that’s real

Just with a thought

Or perhaps a glance

Another layer unrobed

It wasn’t by chance

Why all the fuss

Why all the reaction

It’s your heartbeat

That brings satisfaction

I know who you are

Right down to the core

I see you naked

Still I want more

My desire for you

Is straight off the chart

Don’t physically undress

Just reveal your heart

So take layers off

One at a time

You show me yours

I’ll show you mine

Wounds that are deep

Scars that won’t heal

I’ve got those too

So how do you feel

If I drop my defense

If I lower my guard

If I stand here naked

In your heart’s front yard

What will you do

Don’t stumble, don’t falter

Will you still love me

Or send this lamb to the slaughter

by JIM MOON from THE SCATTERED COLLECTION

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jim Moon

Redeeming my past, 1 day at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.