Poets logo

Naked Like Godiva

(2023)

By Tom BakerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Walking through the tall grasses of the old neighborhood as cracked sidewalk chomps below my clod-hopper shoes, dark faces peer out from the thick foliage, watching me warily, eyes turned about white as moons in the slanting sunshine.

And Auntie rides by on a bicycle buck naked like Godiva saying my name but forgetting the b so I am now "Menjy! Menjy! Menjy!" and I wonder is she not dropped on her head as a baby as thin arched back sails up from the banana seat and I make every bit of this is a dream but an omen maybe.

But before it, all the test, the test, the fucking test as I hand over two booklets to the old white man seated behind a desk with dripping bulldog jaws and I ask myself

-- who is he? As the computer terminal stares blankly at inscrutable type and I wonder what exactly I'm being tested ON.

You leave the classroom, outside, and you're walking around in the African bush.

"They're stuck together," he says as if someone spills a pop on two comic books.

One is black and white.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tom Baker

Author of Haunted Indianapolis, Indiana Ghost Folklore, Midwest Maniacs, Midwest UFOs and Beyond, Scary Urban Legends, 50 Famous Fables and Folk Tales, and Notorious Crimes of the Upper Midwest.: http://tombakerbooks.weebly.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.