Poets logo

Naivety of Youth

Walking to school in 1987 - a poem

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
12
Naivety of Youth
Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

November 1987

Walking to school

Cold bite of autumn air

Breathing car fumes too

***

Walking past stationary traffic

Engines revving, horns beeping

Smiling as I stroll past

Heart in my chest swiftly beating

***

From rolled down windows

Music seeps

‘Walk Like An Egyptian’

‘Livin’ On A Prayer’

***

‘With or Without You’

As I walk a little faster

Thinking to myself

‘Who’s That Girl’

***

Hand tapping against my school bag

In time to the beat

Of the music of my era

And the tapping of my feet

***

Your hair’s too long!

Just look at those clothes!

You can’t go to school dressed like that!

I wear my parents’ disapproval like a badge of honor

On my way to school

***

Denim jacket

With denim jeans

Festooned with buttons and badges

Even tartan was cool to wear

Along with my Dr. Martens

***

Oh! what a time to be alive

I thought I was so cool

The naivety of youth, abundant

On my way to school

***

Oh! to be hip

Oh! to be cool

The naivety of youth, abundant

On my way to school

1987

performance poetry
12

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.