Poets logo

Na'á

Ksaahkomm

By Dawn SaloisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
42
Na'á
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

My home exists outside of place and time

I need not tie myself to physical bounds

The Earth plays host to my soul--for now

I soar over the mountains in the spring

To circle with my brothers the eagles

The grizzly knows me by sight

When he wakes from his dream

The elk does not flee from my presence

I run with the antelope across the plains

I soar across the waters to my place in the sand

The sand remembers my footsteps like it felt me yesterday

The river’s waters stay ready to energize my body

She gives me her pungent fruit

Gaia gives of herself without expectation

She accepts what I have to offer

She is my life and I am hers

I know that with her I have a place in the Universe

She is my home

My heart sings her song

nature poetry
42

About the Creator

Dawn Salois

Mother of a wonderful son. Writing is a relatively new passion of mine. I love to create my own images. Self-published author of Shadow and Flame.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    Beautifully written

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    Beautiful! I want to be there. 💕🌺

  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    Beautiful and descriptive I live in Calgary Canada and just took a trip to BC so your use of the animals sits well with my eyes and imagination great job ! I'm glad to have subscribed to your work!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    You have such a beautiful way with words. This was fantastic, especially that last line :) Great work!

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    This is ALL!

  • Talia Devora2 years ago

    This is absolutely magical and beautiful! What does Na’a and Ksaahkomm mean? And in which languages are these words! Stunning job and its now one of my favourite poems!

  • I love how you portrayed the relationship between us and Mother Nature and the Earth!

  • Magnificent. I love it. Again you have an effective way of communicating the simple pleasures in life that are so important to us.

  • Brilliant words, been here before but can now comment

  • Steve Lance2 years ago

    Very Inspirational Poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.