Poets logo

MYTHOS

a jOY; a bURDEN

By Victor MendezPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
MYTHOS
Photo by Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

MYTHOS

12/11/2023

I am as Sisyphus

Tired in eternity..

While this rock of millions

Weighs me down.

A curse of my own making,

a chain fashioned from my own faults

Yet,

So unlike the tyrant of old,

Have I borne the cost

Urging me up that hill

'til I reach the pinnacle once and more.

Almost...I am but inches away

The sweat,

The tears,

The pain,

The fears...

Disappear!

For a moment..

'til I find I cannot breathe!

Somehow..

I am at the start again..

And I feel my lungs wheeze,

As the pain crushes..

Crushes my chest from the weight of expectations..

It sits full upon me

The whimper of destitution sounds from deep

And tears stain what pride is left.

I realize there is naught

But the laughter of bone-filled cowl

Pointing finger in derision

..and beckoning.

So I rise

Once again

To do the task appointed..

I am my own

And none can heed me..

So I begin..

Again...

heartbreaksocial commentary
2

About the Creator

Victor Mendez

Born in 1958.There's a lot of road beneath these feet.Worn out pairs upon pairs of shoes.Been a ranch kid,a city kid,a Marine,a dad, a grandfather now,an avid reader and just recently began writing poetry in 2015 just to vent.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mescaline Brisset4 months ago

    Love these lines! They come from the earthly shrine. "a chain fashioned from my own faults" "So I begin.. Again..." Aren't we all? End and start over? Despite the tears, pain, fears and derision from the outside.

  • This was so intense and poignant. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.