Poets logo

Myself

Smile

By shobhana kadamPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
1
Myself
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I often remain silent,

Maybe that's why now I can hear the loneliness too.

I hesitate to speak,

Maybe that's why I can write down my thoughts.

I'm afraid of crowds,

Maybe that's why I can live alone.

I don't know how to communicate,

Maybe that's why I talk to myself.

Earlier I used to consider these things as my shortcomings,

But now I think maybe I was wrong.

We often pretend to be in front of people,

But in reality no one really knows us.

Only we ourselves know what we really are.

We can hide our true self from people,

But how we will be able to hide it from ourselves?

Earlier I used to expect from people,

to take care of me and love me.

But now I love myself.

When alone, I hum and even smile.

I can even fall and catch myself,

And now I love myself.

Free Verse
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake11 days ago

    Much obliged with your poem.

  • Manisha Dhalani12 days ago

    Love this so much! "But in reality no one really knows us." - TRUTH.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.