Poets logo

My Visitors

The Visitation

By Dan R FowlerPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Like

My Visitors

So, you’re leaving I heard the voices say,

Those that came to visit me yesterday.

Upon ethereal winds, they came fluttering,

Without introductions or greetings or utterings.

It was an unexpected moment in my busy day,

As I was working trying to make things okay.

But what within me hasn’t yet been understood,

Settled all around me and sank into walls of wood.

They waited and looked at each other I could see,

As I glanced up at them as they peered back at me.

It was a meeting of souls as some have often said,

A meeting between the living and the dead.

It wasn’t a time of fear or confrontation,

But of wonderment, thrill, and admiration.

For those who visited me, those standing there,

Across the room showed feelings that they still cared.

It’s said that the barrier between here and there,

Isn’t penetrable, a line that separates that’s clear.

But there are times, brief moments at least for me,

That misty curtains are drawn open that I might see.

Now, by having certain insight and tweaking our minds,

We can still hear and see them those of our kind.

If we believe that love forever remains,

On certain days, forgotten moments can be reclaimed.

I held my breath until I heard them bid me adieu,

And watched their passage hoping to pursue,

But, alas, my human life, this bondage I am in,

Stopped at the edge of eternity, at the very fringe.

My eyes collapsed into puddles of sorrow,

As I felt they may not visit tomorrow.

Yet, in all of my being, this feeling arose,

Ensuring me someday I’d enter that repose.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com Leaving my granddaughter a part of me that we've shared every day

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.