Poets logo

My True Friend

an ode to a comfort doll

By Morgan Rhianna BlandPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1

He came to me in a long white box, pristine

One of thousands until I made him my own

A sympathetic ear to vent my troubles

My one true companion when I’m alone

Always patiently sitting, waiting on the bed

To take the hugs and tears the world would spurn

Painted aquamarine eyes blind to my faults

A refuge when there’s nowhere else to turn

The passing years have left their mark behind,

Bruised and battered with world-weary airs,

The stains and scars remind me ever more

Of the character whose name he shares

Dirty hands too often held, tangled hair with faded dye,

Joints that creak and crack with every bend

Although he may be just a doll to most,

To me he’ll always be a true friend

love poems
1

About the Creator

Morgan Rhianna Bland

I'm an aroace brain AVM survivor from Tennessee. My illness left me unable to live a normal life with a normal job, so I write stories to earn money.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Morgan Rhianna Bland is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.