Poets logo

Ode to a Mug

the story of my favorite mug

By Morgan Rhianna BlandPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
My favorite mug

Every humdrum day that dawns, I rise, mind too foggy to think

Sleepily stumbling into the kitchen, A familiar favorite mug waits by the sink

Soon to be filled with caffeinated goodness to get me through the daily strife

Sitting in a chair, sipping, I recall the strange way that mug came into my life

A special mug of blazing burgundy red , stamped with a favorite character’s line

A design so perfect as to be made for me , yet one I thought never to be mine

An etsy exclusive, custom made , in a boxed set with a price too high

Saved for later in a cart, forever waiting until my chances passed me by

Like the quote’s source, I made a promise to one who believed when hope was lost

I’d devote my life to support and protect, no matter how hard the climb or high the cost

Money tight despite a year scrimping and saving, the price could derail a reunion’s plan

In a moment of sad realization I faced a choice: Buy the mug or be there for the man

So I set my desire aside, hoping to return someday with my travel plans set in stone

But when I had the money safe in hand I looked online to find the mug was gone

No longer available, the screen read . A downturn caused the shop to fold,

Leaving me with only memories of that perfect mug I’d never hold

They say when we give to others, good things come back to us in the end

As living proof, in the most unlikely place , I found that coveted mug again

In a secondhand marketplace , Christmas money just enough to pay the price

I finally bought that beautiful burgundy mug, the symbol of my sacrifice

love poems
1

About the Creator

Morgan Rhianna Bland

I'm an aroace brain AVM survivor from Tennessee. My illness left me unable to live a normal life with a normal job, so I write stories to earn money.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Morgan Rhianna Bland is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.