Poets logo

My Small, Black Heart

An ode to the little bite of love I bring; with this black and shriveled thing

By L.C. SchäferPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
23
My Small, Black Heart
Photo by Hush Naidoo Jade Photography on Unsplash

Do not be fooled; this doesn't rhyme

At least, not all the time

+

+

Love, (Brother, Sister, Friend, Acquaintance, Fellow Traveller)

(please delete as appropriate)

If you are reading this

(and you are)

Know that this is, for now

All I can give you

Perhaps you deserve so much more

+

Yet

Here it is

My offering

My sacrifice

Paltry as it is

Take it

Disregard it

Discard it

+

It is but a tiny token

A blackened twisted shell

Barely worthy of "like"

Let alone "love"

Even less worthy of you

Probably

+

How much love can it hold, after all?

Perhaps it's all about perspective

Maybe Love is infinite, and the little droplet is as a tsunami

Or perhaps not

It means different things to different people

Different things to me

+

A vessel

A box

Like a coffin

For something it cannot contain

But tries anyway

A husk

A symbol

A token

1 (ONE) Thanks

1 (ONE) Respect

1 (ONE) Awe

1 (ONE) SMILE

And also,

My note to self:

You already read that one, you dummy

++++++++

Thank you for reading!

Should you feel inclined to offer up one of those little black hearts, I would be most obliged.

Please leave a comment so it's easy for me to reciprocate the read.

Tell me what you think, and I am often curious to know how you came across it as well.

If you are subscribed to me - thank you!

If this really wasn't your cup of tea, here's a couple of alternatives...

A recent micro fiction:

And some writing about writing:

surreal poetryhumor
23

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    I adore this LC. It brought back that emotion where it feels like you've used up all your love but still keep trying to give more, hoping it's still worth something. That strange feeling doesn't get written about enough, so thank you for this

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    loved this

  • Laura Lann9 months ago

    Loved the double meanings of this.

  • And I will re-read it to unlock all the different messages in a mood. ❤️

  • Maybe Love is infinite, and the little droplet is as a tsunami. That line resonated so deeply with me. Like I was finally being understood. Thank you so much for that!

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    I liked this!

  • Tina D'Angelo9 months ago

    Aha! The little black hearts. Sometimes I'm dumb as a box of rocks with a hole in the bottom.

  • ema9 months ago

    Very original topic for a poem, great job!

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I feel this speaks to so many moments of exhaustion, I read it as that wanting to give and only having a tiny bit and hoping it will feed the other sufficiently to stay, and thought about how often and across how many contexts, we feel that.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    “Maybe Love is infinite, and the little droplet is as a tsunami Or perhaps not” Damn gorgeous metaphor, I stopped to picture a drop as a tsunami…and then the erasing of that, wow. I read this ode as perhaps something you did not intend, but that I felt, and it warmed my heart. Such a beautiful creation, this. 💕

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    Well this was powerful Very nicely done! And I spite thee by bestowing upon it a like and my earnest enjoyment of it :)

  • Minor edit to fix the formatting - hope that's better!

  • MecAsaf9 months ago

    Good work

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Oh I "loved" this...the format and your well-chosen words!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.