Poets logo

My Senses are Alive, But am I?

When nothing feels like it should

By Simon GeorgePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Mododeolhar - Pexels

The teardrop feels cold against my cheek

I sit here, still

Listening to the sound of silence

My sadness echoes; it’s deafening

My skin feels cold to the touch

Like the dead of the night

I can’t move. I’m frozen

I long for the touch of love

But the warmth hurts me

I grasp the hot mug with my icy hands

I take a sip. It burns me

But the pain comforts me

It tastes only of the salt of my tears

It smells of empty feelings

Nothing good happens to me

I drop the mug. It spills like my hopes

That’s how quickly my happiness dies

I’m alone with my thoughts again

The cold air hits the back of my neck

It’s sharp, like a jolt of lightning

Bringing the rain of tears again

The pain is louder than thunder

I can’t hear myself cry. I’m numb.

heartbreaksad poetry

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    I could share this with my counselor & she'd understand me better than anything I might volunteer on my own. Hauntingly, poignantly, sadly, accurately beautiful in all its numbness & despair.

  • Kim Loostromabout a year ago

    Great description, very immersive imagery!

Simon GeorgeWritten by Simon George

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.