Poets logo

My Rock

My soul, my home

By Cathy holmesPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
49
Photo by author

If I could count

the grains of sand

beneath my feet

and

the water droplets

under yours,

could we then

together

find infinity?

----

This is my response to Cendrine Marrouat’s Grains of Sand challenge, in which she invites us to “explore the world of the tiny, but mighty particles through poetry, stories, and personal essays.”

Cendrine's link:

nature poetrylove poems
49

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Beautiful Cathy ♥️

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    That was really beautifully said Cathy. I am just finding this challenge, Thanks for including it. I will take a shot at it.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    This one will stay with me. Lovely.

  • Meg10 months ago

    This is so simple yet so beautiful and perfect. Lovely metaphor and congrats on top story!

  • This is lovely!!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    You've stung some beautiful words together, what a lovely image. Congrats Cathy on Top Story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Cathy, this is another thought provoking piece! It has this sense of longing to it, like two lovers that want to be together but can't. Like they separated and yet destined to be together. Great work!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Really pretty poem. I love it. So well done in so little words.

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    So beautiful, my friend! 🥹❤️ I really love how you almost equated grains of sand with water droplets, and tied them both into infinity 🥹❤️ So gorgeous. Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Awesome poem and question to ponder. And congrats, Cathy.

  • Sheena Docas10 months ago

    Nice

  • Dean F. Hardy10 months ago

    Congrats on TS Cathy, well deserved

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💯🎉❤️📝💖

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    This is very beautiful I love it!!!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Don't know if I congratulated you for TS, but came back for a reread. Congrats!

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Beautiful. Congrats on TS

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Congrats, Cathy! 🥂 I thought I’d see this here, and I’m glad I do.

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Welllll that made me emotional! 🥰😢❤️. Beautiful!!

  • Oneg In The Arctic10 months ago

    Beautiful poem Cathy

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Damn. Congrats on Top Story. This...this is exceptional, Cathy. I raise my tea mug to you (It's too early to be drinking haha)

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    I knew this would end up as Top Story! Congratulations, Queen :)

  • KJ Aartila10 months ago

    It's beautiful! ❤️

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    This is absolutely gorgeous, Cathy! Well done and congrats on TS

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Wow! I love the comparison of grains of sand and water droplets to infinity, and the wish to share infinity with someone. Very romantic. And here I was thinking my wet, sandy feet after walking on the beach were a pain in the ass… never gonna view them the same now. 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.