Poets logo

My Petrifying Nightmare

"YOU WILL DIE!"

By Carol TownendPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
10
My Petrifying Nightmare
Photo by ALEXANDRE LALLEMAND on Unsplash

A million shadows walk through my dream,

Their wailing haunts in another realm;

I can hear, but not in my world,

Crying in pain and misery,

In their home;

The black swirl.

I feel their icy hands around my throat,

The wailing gets louder, then I start to float,

Sinking into the terrifying blackness they call home;

Further,

Closer,

Nearer,

Now near death.

I hear them wailing, beckoning

me to join them.

Frozen,

Cold,

Paranoid,

Still floating closer into the dark void.

A shadow moves closer to me,

I see its face,

Torn,

Distorted,

Bleeding,

Then I see death.

I'm still floating, frozen

And out of control.

I see blood dripping all around,

I dare not move or make a sound.

I am still floating,

I realize there is no ceiling,

And the wailing is louder,

They must be closer.

The noise is cold and deafening,

They won't stop until I stop breathing.

Something leans over me,

but its not human;

Its face is distorted,

Torn into pieces.

Am I asleep or am I awake?

I can't tell.

The ghost roads are too disturbing.

I feel a boney ice-cold finger snap my neck,

my breathing quickens, and I sweat;

I feel blood trickling down,

I must wake now, but is this hell?

Something moves closer,

And screams in my ear,

Causing the world to disappear.

I lay in my bed shaking with fear,

I don't see the morning;

It doesn't come here.

Covered in sweat,

Drowning in cold blood;

I hear a voice,

"YOU WILL DIE!"

And I never wake up.

performance poetry
10

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Great piece. Well done.

  • Mark Gagnon12 months ago

    I never have nightmares but this is one I would have if I did. Nicely crafted!

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    Ouch! That first line and your nightmare is ours - well done!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    Well, that's my nightmares sorted for tonight 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.