Poets logo

my new friend

me

By Donna BolchPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

I stand in front of the mirror.

I look down and see my ample, sagging breasts.

Then i notice my swelled large belly below.

Im not pregnant, just overweight.

I cannot see my feminine flower which lies beneath.

I stretch out my arms.

I am overcome with sudden love, and a tinge of sadness.

The love i have for myself is like a big red hug enveloping me,

and thanking my body for all it has been through.

Giving birth twice, and enduring 14 operations,

nearly dying twice ,and now a struggling each day

with chronic pain from the top of my head to the bottom of my feet.

The sadness is like a little blue cloud hanging over my head..

For how i once was, what i once looked like,

what i was able to once do.

but i am suddenly proud of the body in front of me

, and thankful for everything it has given me.

Two beautiful children,who can come to it for advice

A place that my husband can come to , to feel love.

It has travelled the world and literally climbed mountains.

It is loyal and honest

and allows me to think and create.

From today my new friend is me.

She is brave, she is strong, and she is beautiful.

And when the time eventually comes that she leaves this world,

it will be the little things she has done, that will leave a mark

on all that she has spoken to ,cared for and loved.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Donna Bolch

i am the very proud mother of two incredible humans,and the wife of a wonderful husband of more than 20 years,.

i suffer from fibromyalgia and functional neurological disorder.

I love photography, and reaching my goals.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.