Poets logo

My Name is Paul...

Rap Slam Poetry (Em Starr's fault.)

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023

Author's Note: This is Em Starr's fault, as evidenced in the comment section of a recent poem I published called Do You Ever? So all the blame should be delivered to her. Also, if you get a chance check out any one of her fantastic little horror stories, and there is a truly stunning poem among the selection too.

*

My name is Paul

You can call me

...

Paul

My rhymes are beastly, tough and rough

Like my back, sack and crack in the buff

I take down opponents like I'm The Greatest Ali

With surrealist imagery like Salvador Dali

I'm not a criminal, though I hustle quite a bit

I'm not a peddler, though I love a caffeine hit

I'm not a pugilist, though I fight with my wit

I'm not a gangster, though I don't give a ----

I'm the P to the a u l,

Haters would do real well,

To avoid stepping to me,

You see. Imma have yee

on your Mother Hubbard knees

with the kilt-faffing, caber toss type flow,

all you will know, I'm the realest fo' sho'.

Not brown enough

Not white enough

Weird off-white tan man

That's who I am,

damn

Pasta, macaroni, pizza, itsa me-a,

Here comes an off-kilter-style jolt

Outdated callback, Geocities, Alta Vista

Running out of rhymes, faster than Bolt

My name is Paul

You can call me

...

The greatest worst

of them all!

*

Thanks for reading!

Remember to check out Em Starr's amazing work.

Also, here are some slightly more serious pieces by yours truly!

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

fact or fictionsocial commentaryslam poetryperformance poetryinspirationalhumor

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (41)

  • Test9 months ago

    Hillarious!

  • Ahamed Thousif12 months ago

    It's a Different & Amazing Creative work... Well Done- Keep Going

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    You’ve got some sick rhymes! Congrats on the top story!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    That’s a different side of you. I like it. Congratulations

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    Congrats!

  • Naveedkk about a year ago

    congrats on the Top Story

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Congratulations 🥰🥳😎This poem could be a Rap ! P to L 🫶🏽👏👏👏👏

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I like it when you go all rap on us Paul. This has got to be my favorite piece by you. Superb!!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    That was a hoot and a woot! Love it ♥️ You are a gangsta poet and that was awesome! Well done my friend! Congratulations on Top Story ♥️

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Go Paul!! Loving this one P. Stewart! Please let me know when the album drops! 😁

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story Paul!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Many congrats, Paul 💘

  • Testabout a year ago

    Yay! Congrats on Top Story, Grandmaster MC, P to the a-u-l! See where all that rapping gets you? ❤️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Hey P to the aul!! This was so much fun and I can tell you enjoyed writing this poem! It was creative and full of so many great rhymes!!! Nicely done!! Also congratulations on Top Story!! You might have to blame this on Em too!! 🤣

  • Congratulations on yourTop Story 🎉 💖😉

  • Kelsey Clareyabout a year ago

    This was a delight to read. Congrats on the top story!

  • Rachel Deemingabout a year ago

    This was just great! Loved it!

  • Ashley Limaabout a year ago

    Love it, Paul! Congrats on TS

  • Mackenzie Davisabout a year ago

    This was an awesome Top Story to read first thing this morning! I laughed, I marveled at your rhymes...such a fun read! Congrats! :D

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! Loving the rap :)

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    😂 Way to put it all out there my friend. I can see you now, wearing a yellow jumpsuit, gold necklaces and a yellow headband that says “Salvador Ali” on it. Make sure I get VIP tickets. Congrats!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Haha. This is great. Love that ending. Congrats on the TS.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Yes! Congrats on Top Story, my friend! I love this one :)

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Very surreal and intriguing 🧐 I enjoyed this! Keep up the introspective work it’s very good! Congratulations on your top story!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Oh my gosh! HAHAHA~ I LOVE this, Paul! Woah, what a fun piece! You are hilariously clever! You are a man of many writing talents, and I think you just found a new calling! Now lets hear you rap this out loud! YouTube? Rapping Paul! Congrats on such a freaking awesome top story!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.